Deerfield-Bannockburn Fire Protection District Board of Trustees Minutes of the Regular Meeting April 11, 2024

The regular meeting of the Deerfield-Bannockburn Fire Protection District Board of Trustees was held on April 11, 2024, at Fire Station #20, located at 500 Waukegan Road, Deerfield, Illinois.

Call to Order

Trustee Bettiker called the regular meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. The following members were present: Trustee Phil Bettiker, President; Trustee Jeff Hansen, Treasurer; Trustee Sheila Elston, Secretary; Fire Chief Ian Kazian, Deputy Fire Chief Ray Larson, Administrative Services Manager Coleen Wattleworth, Attorney Megan Lamb.

Others Present

Members of the department: Joel Antman, Joe Bass, Joey Caprio, John Cossentino, Chris Johnson, Greg Zarko.

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

A motion to approve the minutes of the March 14, 2024, regular meeting was made by Trustee Hansen, seconded by Trustee Elston. Roll call vote: the motion passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report

A motion to approve the treasurer's report for the month ending March 31, 2024, was made by Trustee Elston, seconded by Trustee Hansen. Roll call vote: the motion passed unanimously.

Accounts Payable Report

A motion to approve the bills & disbursements paid for the month ending March 31, 2024, in the amount of \$314,057.70 was made by Trustee Hansen, seconded by Trustee Elston. Roll call vote: the motion passed unanimously.

Attorney's Report

Attorney Lamb gave a report on bills that are currently pending in the state legislature, including an amendment to the Fire Protection District Act that would increase the base amount of expenses that must be taken by public bid from \$20,000 to \$30,000; a bill that would prohibit Fire Departments & Districts from using citizenship as a criterion for hiring; and a change in fire pension fund amortization, potentially changing the year a fund must attain a 90% funding ratio from 2040 to 2050.

Chief's Report - Chief Kazian provided a monthly update on the operations of the District.

Old Business - None

New Business

A motion to approve the annual public notice of regular meeting dates was made by Trustee Elston, seconded by Trustee Hansen. Roll call vote: the motion passed unanimously.

A motion to increase non-union employee compensation in an amount commensurate with the 3.0% increase provided to union employees effective May 1, 2024, was made by Trustee Elston, seconded by Trustee Hansen. Roll call vote: the motion passed unanimously.

A proposed 2024-2025 budget and appropriations ordinance 2024-0-01 was received by trustees.

Public Comment - None

Closed Session - None

Action Taken After Closed Session - None

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:35 p.m. was made by Trustee Elston, seconded by Trustee Hansen. Roll call vote: the motion passed unanimously.

Approved by the Board of Trustees on May 9, 2024.

Phil Bettiker

President, Board of Trustees

Shula Elston

Deerfield-Bannockburn Fire Protection District

ATTEST:

Sheila Elston

Secretary, Board of Trustees

Deerfield-Bannockburn Fire Protection District